My little cottage kitchen is done!

We moved when my husband took a new job and I just decided that I was going to do absolutely everything I wanted to make our new house a cute lil home. I had previously painted my hand-me-down dining set cream and aqua. The cream furniture with white walls was too washed out, so I brightened up the kitchen with some bold, horizontal stripes.

The kitchen is so bright and beachy now! LOVE it!

The kitchen is so bright and beachy now! LOVE it!

Unlike me, some of you may not have all the time in the world (wink!) so just go into this project knowing that it will require some basic math, careful measuring, and lots of patience.

Here are the supplies you need to create this look:

Valspar satin paint in “beach blanket”, 2 rolls of “edge lock” painters tape, a 2 inch angled paint brush, measuring tape, and a laser level (only if you don’t want to bang your head against the walls you’re painting).

You’ll want to measure the wall you’re painting from floor to ceiling and calculate the width of the stripes and how many you want. I chose to have white as the stripes closest to the ceiling and the baseboards. It saves you the trouble of taping off the ceiling and baseboards and you don’t need to worry about getting paint on them. (Quick tip: If you really want to have your colorful stripe first though and you happen to have extremely steady hands, you can still save the trouble of taping off the ceiling and floorboards by using a 2 inch angled paint brush).

After I carefully measured and taped all the walls, I used tiny bits of tape to mark which stripes were staying white so that I wouldn’t accidentally paint the wrong section (you know if you made that mistake after all that measuring and taping, you would cry, 😉 at least I know I would). I found it easier to just use my angled paint brush vs. the paint roller. The painting went pretty quickly and the small brush gives you more control. Try not to lay the paint on too thick – the edge lock tape is pretty good at getting you clean lines, but it’s not magic!  Use just enough paint to coat the wall, don’t overdo it. After I was done painting, I waited just about an hour before slowly peeling the tape off the walls.

It took some time and planning, but I LOVE the new look in the kitchen! Try this in your kitchen sometime and you’ll love the bright update too!

 

painters tape

The kitchen is so bright and beachy now! LOVE it!

IMG_2940

I picked up this print from Homegoods. Pretty inexpensive and it's a great addition to the dining area.

I picked up this print from Homegoods. Pretty inexpensive and it’s a great addition to the dining area.

Even my lil boo boo likes to have his meals in the dining area (His name is actually Mellow, but he also answers to baby bear, boo boo, scooter, pupnsnuff...just depending on how much we want to confuse him on any particular day I guess). Anyway, his cute elevated dish came from Ross and his food tin came from Harry Barker.

Even my lil boo boo likes to have his meals in the dining area (His name is actually Mellow, but he also answers to baby bear, boo boo, scooter, pupnsnuff…just depending on how much we want to confuse him on any particular day I guess). Anyway, his cute elevated dish came from Ross and his food tin came from Harry Barker.

IMG_2942

The Good Apples sign came from a store called Alyssa's in Pace, FL. It's a neat store with  lots of chabby chic and cottage decor. If you happen to be in the area, you can check 'em out here: shopalyssas.com

The Good Apples sign came from a store called Alyssa’s in Pace, FL. It’s a neat store with lots of chabby chic and cottage decor. If you happen to be in the area, you can check ’em out here:
shopalyssas.com

The Seek Happiness cherry art is one of my favorites! I originally saw it at World Market, but ended up getting the print in a smaller (and more affordable) size at Homegoods.

The Seek Happiness cherry art is one of my favorites! I originally saw it at World Market, but ended up getting the print in a smaller (and more affordable) size at Homegoods.

 

 

Leave a Reply

